Reblog: Strange Ire: John MacArthur, Charismatics, and Controversy

MacArthur, as you probably know, is a prolific author, radio host of the syndicated show Grace to You, and longstanding pastor of Grace Community Church in Sun Valley, CA. Controversy’s no stranger to him – his past public comments about Christian counseling and Christian rock have ruffled plenty of feathers, mine included – but I respect him and deeply appreciate so much of what he’s written and said, not to mention his consistent shepherding of the thousands at Grace Community Church.

But I don’t think he’d return the admiration, judging by his recently released book Strange Fire: The Danger of Offending the Holy Spirit with Counterfeit Worship (Thomas Nelson) which has just hit the stores. Quotes from it, and from him, have also just hit the fan. Among them:

-The charismatic movement dishonors God and deserves judgment.

-Charismatics are attributing to the Holy Spirit the works of Satan.

-The Charismatic movement has made no contribution to biblical clarity, interpretation, or sound doctrine.

-God doesn’t strike it down only because He’s patient

And Joe answers this very well. Be sure you go read the whole post by Joe Dallas, who does have a bit of my personal respect in spite of my not knowing him personally. Nor do I know MacArthur, of whom I really had no personal respect in the first place because I’ve zero experience with him. But he certainly lost much of a chance of getting any when he throws out accusations that I can’t possibly be NOT working for Satan himself. I’m a fairly point-blank guy. If you said the things MacArthur said I’d probably just call you a bigoted religiously bound butthole and move on.

I’d like to point out something in MacArthur that I find bewildering before I go and let you read the rest. MacArthur is one who believes that the Holy Spirit ceased acting on earth shortly after the Book of Acts. So in his world and theology it is impossible for anyone to claim the Spirit has done anything. That’s nuts and it’s myopic. That’s my two cents worth of opinion. Move along; nothing more to see here. 🙂

Blessings.

Read the rest: Strange Ire: John MacArthur, Charismatics, and Controversy | Joe Dallas Online.

Talk back. I dare you. I am sorry I have to make you log in but the spam is out of control.

