Secret Places

He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty. I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”
(Psalms 91:1-2 NKJV)

Oh, how great is Your goodness, Which You have laid up for those who fear You, Which You have prepared for those who trust in You In the presence of the sons of men! You shall hide them in the secret place of Your presence From the plots of man; You shall keep them secretly in a pavilion From the strife of tongues.
(Psalms 31:19-20 NKJV)

But when you do a charitable deed, do not let your left hand know what your right hand is doing, that your charitable deed may be in secret; and your Father who sees in secret will Himself reward you openly. “And when you pray, you shall not be like the hypocrites. For they love to pray standing in the synagogues and on the corners of the streets, that they may be seen by men. Assuredly, I say to you, they have their reward. But you, when you pray, go into your room, and when you have shut your door, pray to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.
(Matthew 6:3-6 NKJV)

But you, when you fast, anoint your head and wash your face, so that you do not appear to men to be fasting, but to your Father who is in the secret place; and your Father who sees in secret will reward you openly.
(Matthew 6:17-18 NKJV)

Yesterday I found That Place.

We moved over a year ago and I’ve neglected to search for some place to get alone and get with God at length. Being a classic introvert I crave solitude quite a bit but even in solitude there’s computers and TeeVee and dog and parent to take care of and laundry and gardening and Bonsai and vacuuming the floor and winterizing and buying propane and planning and and and and AND the things just press in and demand attention. I need a Secret Place. Yesterday I think I found it. A nice spot hidden in some trees with a picnic table and a spot to build a fire and roast hotdogs on October 26 (I’ll explain later about that date); a place to bring me and my Bible and journal and maybe a book or five that I’ve yet to finish. And a place to be quiet, alone, and secret.

Being intentional to get alone with God is never easy. We enter that place to seek Him and get to know Him, but we run the risk of having Him point out the things we don’t want to change. He reaches into our hearts and touches our idols and intentions and if we’re not careful we recoil and argue with Him. Just as Jesus “set his face toward Jerusalem” on his last journey, knowing what would come, we have to be intentional about finding and entering the secret place in spite of knowing what will become of our self.

But that is the point isn’t it, becoming less?

 

 

 

Talk back. I dare you. I am sorry I have to make you log in but the spam is out of control.

