Transfiguration Sleep

transfiguration-of-JesusSome eight days after these sayings, He took along Peter and John and James, and went up on the mountain to pray. And while He was praying, the appearance of His face became different, and His clothing became white and gleaming. And behold, two men were talking with Him; and they were Moses and Elijah, who, appearing in glory, were speaking of His departure which He was about to accomplish at Jerusalem. Now Peter and his companions had been overcome with sleep; but when they were fully awake, they saw His glory and the two men standing with Him. And as these were leaving Him, Peter said to Jesus, “Master, it is good for us to be here; let us make three tabernacles: one for You, and one for Moses, and one for Elijah”—not realizing what he was saying. While he was saying this, a cloud formed and began to overshadow them; and they were afraid as they entered the cloud. Then a voice came out of the cloud, saying, “This is My Son, My Chosen One; listen to Him!” And when the voice had spoken, Jesus was found alone. And they kept silent, and reported to no one in those days any of the things which they had seen.
Luke 9:28-36 NASB (bold text mine)

The stuff from inside my head, barely edited…

who am I that the creator of the universe would wait for me to rest while he shines in glory-

waits for sleep to pass, waits for mind to be fully present. waits for me to see we have company and I can only mutter, “this good… make tents…”. And you waited for me and my sleep to be done with overcoming me. How gracious and patient. Why?!

I will wait because I need you to see me for who I am and I Am comes. Hello, Abba. Nice cloud. You’re radiant as ever! Tell my soon-brothers who I am.

This is my Son, The Chosen One. Listen to him!

Who is Jesus on the mount? is this the same Jesus angry in the temple, the same who told people the only reason they followed him was to be fed, the one who calls them an unbelieving and perverse generation?

Slumbering weariness leaned back on a tree

arm propped on rock to hold my head

Jesus waiting, glorified, talking with old friends

what did i miss? someone tell me

it is so good to be here

but i missed so much

I need to work so

let’s put up some tents

that will make me feel better

Hello, cloud.

Yep. Sometimes I let my mind loose into scripture to freely wander and explore. Sometimes it gets written down. One of these days someone’s going to call the pound and complain because my mind isn’t fixed.

HAPPY FRIDAY!

Talk back. I dare you. I am sorry I have to make you log in but the spam is out of control.

