Forgive Jesus, Me

Hi Jesus! How’s your day going?Forgive Jesus me thumbnail
Very well, thanks! You did pretty well yourself a while ago. Good job!
I’m glad you’re here. Thanks so much for helping me with that. It sure wasn’t easy to do what you want me to do but knowing you were pleased really makes it worth it.
My pleasure. To me you are worth everything I ever do.
I needed to hear that.
I know.
Hey, ummm, Jesus… Could you do me a little favor?
Well, that depends on what it is.
I need you to come down a while.
Huh?
Please come down.
Ummm, that’s going to complicate things. Why?
I’m mad, and I have been for a long time.
Really?
Yeah. I was really hurt and I can’t forgive them. Come down.
Well, I knew there was a problem. Are you sure you can’t do what I asked you to do?
Yeah. It really is that bad.
Well, why do you need me to get down?
I know what you said. It would be simpler if you could come down and wait ’till I’ve worked through this. Then you can get back up there when I’m done forgiving them.
Oh! I see. You need me to wait until you’re done not doing what God and I require before I pay for you not doing it. That way you’re off the hook.
Well, that’s not quite how I meant it Jesus but…
Yes it is. You know I died once for all sin. Why not just forgive them?
IT’S SO HARD!!!
Try looking at it from up here hanging off these nails. You don’t seriously think I’m going to undo the Father’s great plan, do you? Just forgive them. I’ll help.
I can’t.
Then I can’t either. Will you forgive me?

13 And lead us not into temptation,but deliver us from the evil one. 14 For if you forgive other people when they sin against you, your heavenly Father will also forgive you. 15 But if you do not forgive others their sins, your Father will not forgive your sins.
Matthew 6: 13-15 NIV

For Christ also died for sins once for all, the just for the unjust, so that He might bring us to God, having been put to death in the flesh, but made alive in the spirit;
1 Peter 3:18 NASB

26 For if we deliberately keep on sinning after receiving the knowledge of the truth, no further sacrifice for sins is left for us, 27 but only a certain fearful expectation of judgment and a fury of fire that will consume God’s enemies.
Hebrews 10: 26, 27 NET

Several years ago in preparation to teach Lesson 17: Forgiveness in a Celebrate Recovery group God came to me about my little something that I HAD to deal with. Forgiveness is not my thing. And In the process of searching out what scripture says about the Holy Spirit God got as blunt as he needed to be with me about not-my-thing. If I have been Spirit-filled and have the authority to forgive, the power to forgive, the requirement to forgive and I refuse to do it, what does it say about the Spirit living in me?

Lord, help. Amen. p.s. I’m glad you were up there.
Glad to do it. Remember, it’s just as much the Father’s will for you to forgive as it was for me.

The story so far: No rocks. No gavel. Do not judge. Do not worry. Get up. Let your chains fall off. Walk out of the prison. Forgive.

1 Comment

  1. Pingback: Looking to the Cross and Remembering the Example of Jesus | Inspirational Matters

Talk back. I dare you. I am sorry I have to make you log in but the spam is out of control.

