Post One. No Rocks – No Gavel

Rock:
4a : something like a rock in firmness: (1) : foundation, support (2) : refuge <a rock of independent thought … in an ocean of parochialism — Thomas Molnar>

b : something that threatens or causes disaster —often used in plural [1]

Gavel:
a mallet used (as by a presiding officer or auctioneer) for commanding attention or confirming an action (as a vote or sale) [2]

WHY is it so easy to condemn others? Why? Think about it and think back to stolen fruit we were never meant to eat. We stole the knowledge of good and evil right from the one place where God said do not go. And we’ve played Judge, Jury and Executioner ever since. It’s a job we were never designed to do. We cannot see into the hearts and minds of others but we have this stolen instinctive comprehension of what is right and what is wrong, regardless of our inability see the truth inside people. We judge and condemn in an instant without thinking. The wrong happens and inside our hearts we pound the gavel as we reign over our particular courtroom.

Sometimes God needs to remind me I’m not really in charge of my particular courtroom. I gave my life up, remember? But sitting here wounded and with the revenge-ideas flying I thought to send my wrong-ers a couple of rocks to throw at me for next time and a handy gavel to pound as they shout, “GUILTY!” God quietly interrupted my train of thought and said “No Rocks. No Gavel”.

I think it’s pretty telling that we as Christians are practiced at picking up rocks to use weapons instead of building with them or just standing on THE Rock. I think my own evil fleshy heart has a lot of work to do here in letting Jesus remind me that just as he doesn’t condemn, I shouldn’t either.

Jesus sees my rock collection. I wonder which rock I’ll pick up first. I wonder what I’ll do with it.

The Pharisees and the teachers of the Law of Moses brought in a woman who had been caught in bed with a man who wasn’t her husband. They made her stand in the middle of the crowd. Then they said, “Teacher, this woman was caught sleeping with a man who isn’t her husband. The Law of Moses teaches that a woman like this should be stoned to death! What do you say?” They asked Jesus this question, because they wanted to test him and bring some charge against him. But Jesus simply bent over and started writing on the ground with his finger. They kept on asking Jesus about the woman. Finally, he stood up and said, “If any of you have never sinned, then go ahead and throw the first stone at her!” Once again he bent over and began writing on the ground. The people left one by one, beginning with the oldest. Finally, Jesus and the woman were there alone. Jesus stood up and asked her, “Where is everyone? Isn’t there anyone left to accuse you?” “No sir,” the woman answered. Then Jesus told her, “I am not going to accuse you either. You may go now, but don’t sin anymore.”
(John 8:3-11 CEV)

For God did not send His Son into the world to condemn the world, but that the world through Him might be saved. “He who believes in Him is not condemned; but he who does not believe is condemned already, because he has not believed in the name of the only begotten Son of God.
(John 3:17-18 NKJV)

If you judge others, you will be judged the same way you judge them. God will treat you the same way you treat others.
(Matthew 7:2 ERV)

if rocks could talk if gavels could sing
would they discuss the law as church-bells ring
would they hold all to be damned but the thrower
and the bag-man with rocks slung over his shoulder?

Put the rocks down.

Burn the gavel.

Footnotes:
1: “Rock.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 17 Aug. 2013. <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/rock&gt;.

2: “Gavel.” Merriam-Webster.com. Merriam-Webster, n.d. Web. 17 Aug. 2013. <http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/gavel&gt;.

1 Comment

Talk back. I dare you. I am sorry I have to make you log in but the spam is out of control.

